2018 Civil Rights Report: Appendix


Targeting CAIR

CAIR receives a significant amount of hate mail, death threats, and other forms of prejudiced communication, especially following the growth of social media. Those seeking to express their anti-Muslim sentiment frequently target CAIR through Twitter, Facebook, and other digital media platforms.

CAIR staff are confident that if their work draws the attention of individuals harboring prejudice away from individual community members, then the organization is serving a valuable purpose.

This report excludes cases in which CAIR itself is the target. CAIR does not believe that the inclusion of this information would present an accurate reflection of the experiences of American Muslims in this country.

Provided below is a sample of incidents in which CAIR was targeted in 2017:


CBP: Customs and Border Protection – a U.S. Department of Homeland Security entity tasked with securing U.S. borders.

BDS: Boycott, Divestment, Sanctions –  an international campaign that applies pressure on Israel to comply with international law through an academic, cultural, and economic boycott.

DACA: Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals – an immigration policy that allows some individuals who have entered the country as minors to receive a period of deferred action from deportation.

DHS: U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

DS TRIP: Department of Homeland Security Traveler Redress Inquiry Program.

DOJ: U.S. Department of Justice.

DOT: U.S. Department of Transportation.

DREAM Act: Development, Relief, and Education for Alien Minors Act – a legislative proposal to grant immigrant minors conditional and then permanent residency.

FBI: Federal Bureau of Investigation.

ICE: Immigration and Customs Enforcement.

INA: Immigration and Nationality Act.

The Establishment Clause of the First Amendment: “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof.”

Title VI: Part of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 –  prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, and national origin in programs and activities receiving federal financial assistance.

Title VII: Part of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 – prohibits employment discrimination based on race, color, religion, sex, or national origin.

TSA: Transportation Security Administration – a U.S. Department of Homeland Security entity tasked with securing U.S. transportation systems.

USCIS: United States Citizenship and Immigration Services.


Tags: , , ,
powered by social2s